Search the library catalog
Go to the library homepage to search the library catalog:
Beyond the Library
Some of the information you're looking for might take the form of NGO reports, government agency papers, or technical documents, which may be easier to find with a web search. Use the same strategies and techniques you use for library databases for best results!
Citing Your Sources
When writing a research paper you will use a wide variety of resources. You are required to cite your sources for two main reasons:
- To give credit to the creator of the original idea. By citing you will avoid any charges of plagiarism.
- To enable readers of your paper to be able to find the resources you have used and consult them to read further on the topic.
For more information, check Why Do We Cite?
For help writing and citing APA Style, check out:
- APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL Purdue)Created by Purdue University Online Writing Lab. For quick answers to paper formatting, in-text citations, reference lists, and using APA in presentations.
Search Databases
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA, maintained by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, is a database for all facets of agriculture and related fields, such as environmental studies, botany, and more. It offers comprehensive coverage of journal articles, monographs, proceedings, patents, audiovisual materials, and more.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Academic OneFile (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a powerful resource that offers a vast collection of scholarly journals, articles, and other authoritative sources.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides access to peer-reviewed journals and eBooks from the the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- A-Z List of DatabasesAll library databases arranged alphabetically by title
Searching Tips
- Map your keywords to subject headings. Books especially are cataloged by subject headings. Using these can help you find more sources.
- Too many results? Use more specific terms. Too few results? Use broader terms. (Your keyword or concept may appear in the text of a resource without showing up in the search results.)
- Browse reference lists. Sources cited by a resource you've found might also be good matches.
- Use the peer reviewed filter by checking the Peer-reviewed checkbox on the left side of the screen. Peer reviewed resources are generally scholarly.
- If your keyword consists of more than one word, such as "identity category", put double quotes around it to ensure that the search engine considers the two words as a single term.