Subject Guide
Key Chemistry Databases
For news on the latest developments in chemistry, to review articles, to the primary research literature, start here to find articles on your chemistry topic. Need more? Check out our additional resources for finding chemistry articles.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
In order to use SciFinder-n, an individual registration is required. There is no cost associated with this registration.
SciFinder-n facilitates discovery of substances, reactions, and references. Covering millions of chemical structures, reactions, and scientific publications, SciFinder-n is essential for researchers in chemistry, materials science, and related fields.
- ACS Journal Archives This link opens in a new windowFull text archive of all journals published by the American Chemical Society with a simple, easy to use search engine. Need a chemistry article for your Chem 115 lab? Working on your Capstone lit review?
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters from engineering and life sciences to social sciences and humanities.
Find a Topic
Stuck for a research topic? The sites and sources below highlight news and recent discoveries in chemistry and other sciences. Explore something cool.
- Chemical & Engineering NewsWeekly news magazine of the chemical world. PLU does not have a subscription; however, some articles are available for free.
- Science NewsThe magazine of the Society for Science & the Public, promoting public understanding and appreciation of science.
- ScienceThis journal, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, is one of the premier scientific journals in the world. Includes news, editorials, and policy analysis as well as the latest research.
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics This link opens in a new window
The CRC Handbook (aka the “Rubber Bible”) serves scientists, engineers, and students seeking comprehensive data and information across the fields of Chemistry and Physics.
Cite It, ACS Style
The ACS Style Guide 3rd EditionCall Number: REF QD8.5.A25 2006
- ACS Style Quick GuideQuick guide to how to cite different sources in ACS style. (We don't have online access to the full style guide.)
- ACS Style GuidelinesCreated by University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
- Journal title abbreviationsACS style uses abbreviated journal titles. Use this list to look up the abbreviation for a journal you're citing.