Citation guides and examples
Your professors will require that you correctly cite your sources. The following links will give you guidance on when and how to cite as well as examples of the various forms of citations in common usage such as MLA, APA and Chicago Style.
Assembling a list of works cited
This guide from Duke University gives clear examples of citing different sources in the major citation styles, APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and CSE.
The links from this guide will take you to a wide variety of citation guides, some general some designed to help very specific disciplines.
Tutorials for research success
This link will take you to several brief tutorials on Proper Usage including citing, understanding a citation and how to cite.
Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media provides access to peer-reviewed journals, books, reports, and multimedia across communication, mass media, journalism, and other closely-related fields.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the leading online library for education research and information. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC covers all aspects of education, from early childhood to post-secondary education.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes journals, books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources.
Subject Guide
