Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pacific Lutheran University
Inquiry. Service. Leadership. Care.
About the Library
Search Library Collection
*Publishing & Printing Arts
Search this Guide
*Publishing & Printing Arts: Online Sources
Find Background Info
POxy: Oxyrhynchus Online
A guide and online database for the Oxyrhynchus Papyri.
Typedia is a resource to classify, categorize, and connect typefaces
Reading Experience Database (RED), 1450–1945
Documents what individuals in Great Britain and a few other countries actually read from 1450-1945.
SHARP: Society for the History of Authorship, Reading, Publishing
Portal to useful resources for book historians and those interested in print culture.
Dime Novel and Popular Literature
This collection brings together pre-Pulp era tales initially depicting scenes early America, the Frontier, and the West ranging roughly from 1860 to 1930.
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts
Digitised Manuscripts from the British Library
You must create a free account before you may use this site.
Medieval Manuscripts Blog
Combines gorgeous illustrations with brief, elementary explanations and links to related material.
The directory of America and Canadian book publishing
The Scholarly Kitchen: what's hot and cooking in scholarly publishing
The Future of the Book
"Incorporating a brief history of the written word, the editors traverse the history, financial viablilty, & futher of the publishing industry" S.P. Beiting
Publishers' Bindings Online 1815-1930: The Art of Books
PBO is a searchable database of decorative trade bindings produced by American publishers in the 19th and early twentieth centuries.
Aspects of the Victorian Book
Online exhibition from the British Library providing an introduction to printing technology, formats illustration techniques, and more.
British Library: Early Photographically Illustrated Books
An online exhibit documenting the advent of photographically illustrated books, including nearly 1,500 early prints on a variety of subjects.
Wynken de Worde books, early modern culture, post-modern readers
A blog about early printed books, book history, and the digital technologies that can help us learn about books and reading.
Aug 6, 2021 4:54 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Publishing & Printing Arts