Subject Guide
Finding Religion Articles
- ATLA Religion Database & ATLA Serials (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database is the premier index for scholarly research in religion and theology. Offers comprehensive coverage of articles, reviews, and essays across diverse religious traditions, languages, and historical periods.
ATLA Serials is a comprehensive collection of full-text journals in religion and theology. Provides access to leading academic publications for in-depth analysis and exploration of current research and scholarship in the field.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, and primary sources from various disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
How to find Specific Journals
If you want to find out if the Library has access to a particular journal title either in print or online follow these steps:
1. From the Library home page, https://www.plu.edu/library, click on "Journal Search" in the search box (see below)
2. On the next page (see below) type the name of the journal (for example, Journal of Popular Culture) or search by category using the list in the left column.
Online Journals and Magazines
- Religion & PoliticsAn online news journal, dedicated to the two topics thought unfit for polite company.
- Religion DispatchesAn online magazine that comes out of the Annenberg School for communication and Journalism at USC.
- Religion News ServiceThe Religion News Service aims to be the largest single source of news about religion, spirituality and ideas.
Websites
- ARDA: Association of Religion Data ArchivesData included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
- Gifford LecturesThe prestigious Gifford Lectureships were established by Adam Lord Gifford (1820–1887), a senator of the College of Justice in Scotland. The purpose of Lord Gifford's bequest to the universities of Edinburgh, Glasgow, St. Andrews and Aberdeen was to sponsor lectures to “promote and diffuse the study of Natural Theology in the widest sense of the term—in other words, the knowledge of God”.
- On Common GroundAims to document and better understand the changing contours of American religious demography
Citation guides and examples
Your professors will require that you correctly cite your sources. The following links will give you guidance on when and how to cite as well as examples of the various forms of citations in common usage such as MLA, APA and Chicago Style.
- Duke Citing SourcesThis guide from Duke University gives clear examples of citing different sources in the major citation styles, APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and CSE.