Historical Newspapers & Magazines
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
- Friend of ManA newspaper published weekly (1836-42) by the NY State Antislavery Society.
- Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Online collection of historical newspapers published in Oregon, focusing on the years 1860-1922.
- Historical Worldwide Newspapers OnlineMassive list of newspapers from a librarian at Bowling Green University.
- Historical U.S. Newspapers OnlineA comprehensive list of online newspapers available online for free.
- Radical AmericaA digital edition of Radical America, a product of the campus-based New Left of the late 1960s, specifically the Students for a Democratic Society (SDS).
- Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Spanning coverage from 1785 to 1985, this resources provides comprehensive access to The Times of London's historical archive.
- Wall Street Journal Historical 1889-1987 This link opens in a new window
Search over 100 years of economic news to explore trends & issues that have impacted the country and the world.
- Chronicling AmericaProvided by the Library of Congress, you can search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1943.
- International Coalition on NewspapersThis page highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers.
U.S. Primary Documents
- American JourneysAmerican Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
- Library of Congress Digitial CollectionsComprehensive collection of images, videos and sound on popular culture and history.
Online Primary Sources
- 100 Milestone DocumentsCompiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
- Collections Search Center, Smithsonian InstitutionSearch over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.
- Cornucopia: Discovering UK CollectionsAn online database of information about more than 6,000 collections in the UK's museums, galleries, archives and libraries. Whether you are interested in painters or politicians, dinosaurs or space travel, the Romans or the Victorians, Cornucopia can tell you what is available and where to see it.
- European History Primary SourcesAn index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. The websites listed on EHPS are not only meta-sources but also include invented archives and born digital sources.
- The Great War ArchiveThe Great War Archive contains over 6,500 items contributed by the general public between March and June 2008. Every item originates from, or relates to, someone's experience of the First World War, either abroad or at home.
- Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary SourcesThis site provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. The materials listed are freely available to the public.
- ManuscriptoriumYou must create a free account before you may use this site.
- Many PastsThis feature contains primary documents in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. history.
- National JukeboxThe Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge.
- PhotogrammarA web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).
- Primary Documents in American HistoryThis Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents
- Timelines: Sources from HistorySeveral hundred images culled from the British Library's extensive collections are arranged by decade in this attractive, engaging interactive resource.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveContains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe,
- World Digital LibraryMakes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
What is a primary source?
A primary source is firsthand testimony. It is the words of the witnesses or the first recorders of an event. It is created contemporary to the events and includes: diaries, letters, manuscripts, archives, speeches, audio recordings, newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, original art, and maps. It also includes books that are firsthand testimony of an event.
Print Sources
Historic documents
Call Number: E839.5.H57
Historic documents cumulative index, 1972-2005Call Number: E839.5.H57 Index
Milestone documents of American leadersCall Number: eBook
Archival Sites
- HathiTrustHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It includes many full-text books, videos, and other artifacts.
