Mexico & Drugs
- Frontera ListNews and discussion of U.S.-Mexico border issues. Managed by Molly Molloy, Border & Latin American specialist at New Mexico State University Library.
Relevant subject headings for books in the catalog include:
Drug traffic--Mexico
Narco-terrorism--Mexico
Drug control--Mexico
Blogs:
- America's Mexico Blog"The Americas MexicoBlog of the CIP Americas Program chronicles and analyzes, in English, the latest developments in the U.S. and the consequences in Mexico of U.S. policies in the War on Drugs, Immigration and Globalization, together with the related political dynamics in both countries."
- Borderland BeatA blog dedicated to reporting on organized crime on the border between the U.S. and Mexico
Historical Newspapers
- Diario del HogarSep 16, 1881 - Nov 15, 1914
- El Abogado CristianoAug 1, 1880 - Dec 26, 1929
- El AlacranSep 3, 1899 - May 19, 1900
- El Asilo de MendigosJul 1, 1879 - Oct 31, 1889
- El BautistaMay 19, 1910 - Dec 26, 1912
- El Correo del ComercioSep 15, 1871 - Oct 12, 1876
- El Correo EspanolNov 9, 1889 - Dec 31, 1914
- El Cronista MusicalMay 1, 1887 - Dec 25, 1887
- El CruzadoJul 22, 1893 - Sep 16, 1894
- El Informador1917-present
- El NacionalApr 1, 1890 - Dec 31, 1918
- El PaisSep 26, 1900 - Aug 22, 1914
- El Pajaro VerdeMay 13, 1865 - Dec 31, 1886
- El Partido LiberalNov 13, 1886 - Oct 15, 1896
- El Siglo Diez Y NueveJun 25,1893 - Oct 15, 1896
- El UniversalNov 16, 1848 - Dec 7, 1901
- La SociedadDec 26, 1857 - Mar 31, 1867
- Hermoteca Digital Nacional de MexicoPortal to the Digital Newspaper Collection of the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico. Contains a searchable database of millions of pages of digitised newspapers from the early 18th to the early 20th century.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & CultureCall Number: eBook
Books
Archaeology of ancient Mexico and Central America : an encyclopediaCall Number: F1218.6.A73 2001
Moments of discovery : natural history narratives from Mexico and Central AmericaCall Number: QH107.M66 2010
Zapatistas : rebellion from the grassroots to the globalCall Number: F1256.K53 2010
Political intelligence and the creation of modern Mexico, 1938-1954Call Number: F1235.N38 2010
Mexico : from Montezuma to NAFTA, and beyondCall Number: F1226.S83 2000
The Oxford history of MexicoCall Number: F1226.O94 2000
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures : the civilizations of Mexico and Central AmericaCall Number: F1218.6.O95 2001
Online Primary Sources
- Bracero History ArchiveMakes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
- Biblioteca National Digital de MexicoHistorical documents, archives, photos, video from a collaboration of Mexican institutions
- LanicAcademic sources on Mexico from the University of Texas at Austin
- Mexico ProjectNational Security Archive's Mexico Project has sought to identify and obtain the release of documents from secret government archives on United States and Mexico since 1960, and to disseminate those records through publications, conferences and the Archive's Web site.
Media
La otra conquista = The other conquestCall Number: DVD PN1997.O85 2007- Mexico, the frozen revolutionCall Number: DVD F1414.2.M49 2007
NAFTA
"Implementation of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) began on January 1, 1994. This agreement will remove most barriers to trade and investment among the United States, Canada, and Mexico. " - United States Department of Agriculture 2009