See Also:
- Scandinavian Immigrant Experience CollectionThe Scandinavian Immigrant Experience Collection is a depository of historical materials relating to immigrants to the Pacific Northwest from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. The collection includes items that support the academic, educational, and research programs of the university and the research needs of scholars and other researchers beyond the immediate university constituency.
Web Resources
- National Nordic MuseumThe National Nordic Museum shares Nordic culture, values, and ideas with people of all ages and backgrounds to create connections, generate dialogue, and inspire new perspectives.
Interlibrary Loan
What if PLU doesn’t own the book or article you want?
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows current PLU students, faculty, & staff to receive books, articles, and other materials from other libraries. Some things to keep in mind when using ILL:
- Plan ahead! Articles usually arrive in your email in 2-5 business days. Books can take 7-10 business days.
- Books can be picked up from the Hold shelf on the 1st floor. Just take them to the Circulation desk for check out.
The Interlibrary Loan link can be found either:
- a) within the catalog or database, or
- b) in the navigation bar at the top of the library website
If you have any problems or questions, please email ill@plu.edu.
Finding Journals
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, and primary sources from various disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Subject Guide
