Subject Guide
O'Reilly Online Learning: Your Technology E-book Collection
Access a wealth of programming manuals, design books, engineering texts, history and theory, and much more with O'Reilly Online Learning. This collection features over 30,000 books, videos, and other learning materials on everything from making your own apps to getting started with a new programming language to interface design to network architecture, from publishers such as O'Reilly, Peachpit, Que, and MIT Press.
- O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
Learning paths, videos, and e-books, including programming manuals, software handbooks, and technical texts from major technical publishers.
TO SIGN IN: Click the "Select your institution" drop-down, then click "Not listed? Click here." Enter your e-mail address to complete the registration process.
Finding Computer Science Articles
For news on the latest developments in computer science, to review articles, to the primary research literature, use these databases to find articles on your CS topic.
- Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Computer Source index and provides access to academic publications on topics ranging from Artificial Intelligence and cybersecurity to softward development and networking.
- Computer Science OneFile (GALE) This link opens in a new window
OneFile: Computer Science focuses on scholarly and trade journals related to computers, telecommunications, and electronics. It offers full-text articles, product information, and other research materials.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters from engineering and life sciences to social sciences and humanities.
- SciTech ConnectPortal to free, publicly-available U.S. Department of Energy-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.
- Google ScholarProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Recommended Reads
Outnumbered
Our increasing reliance on technology and the internet has opened a window for mathematicians and data researchers to gaze through into our lives. Using the data they are constantly collecting about where we travel, where we shop, what we buy and what interests us, they can begin to predict our daily habits. But how reliable is this data?
ADA Lovelace
How did a young woman in the nineteenth century, without access to formal school or university education, acquire the knowledge and expertise to become a pioneer of computer science? Although an unusual pursuit for women at the time, Ada Lovelace studied science and mathematics from a young age. Her ideas on the principles of computing, computer music and artificial intelligence strike a chord to this day.
The User Unconscious
"Humans now exist and imagine within multiple layers of omnipresent digital networks, changing our conscious and unconscious lives." -- CHOICE reviews