Explores a range of diverse cultural subjects from contemporary Chinese culture. This book includes 1,200 entries.

The Oxford Chinese Dictionary offers authoritative and in-depth coverage of over 670,000 words, phrases, and translations. The foremost English-Mandarin Chinese bilingual dictionary available.

Mandarin Chinese phrase book

The history of medieval China is related through the book's introductory essay, maps, a table of Dynastic Periods, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on key people, historical geography, arts, institutions, events, and other important terms.

The Cultural Revolution in the People's Republic of China started in 1966 and lasted about a decade. The A to Z of the Chinese Cultural Revolution in an extensive chronology, which traces the events from year to year and month to month, then in an introduction puts these events in context and helps to explain them. But most importantly, the bulk of the information is provided in a dictionary section with numerous cross-referenced entries on important persons, places, institutions, and movements.

Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from Adoption and Banking to Wound Literature and the Zhou Dynasty. Designed for students, teachers, businesspeople, government officials, and tourists seeking a greater understanding of China today.

The encyclopedia showcases the work of an international body of prominent scholars, who offer accessible, original, and authoritative analysis of all aspects of the history and culture of China since 1800.

This Historical Dictionary of Modern China (1800-1949) offers a concise yet comprehensive examination of the political, military, economic, social, and cultural development of China during the 19th and first half of the 20th centuries. It covers a variety of significant people, including women and ethnic minorities; historical concepts; cultural and educational institutions; and economic activities

The focus is on society and politics and their impact on both China and the world.