Royalty free images
Article about several sources for royalty free images.
Royalty free means that no royalty is charged, but these types of agreements tend to be very specific as to their use.Photo Images
- Life Magazine photographsSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today
Art Images
- Metropolitan Museum of Art Online CollectionThe Metropolitan Museum of Art has released a vast archive of 400,000 (mostly) hi-resolution digital images online that you can download and use for non-commercial purposes. From al scan of Rembrandt’s 1660 self-portrait to over 18,000 photos.
- Google Arts & CultureLets you explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces
- Google ImagesWhen you have an image and want to find info about it or find like items
- Bridgeman Images: The Bridgeman Art LibraryAn archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world. Many subjects, concepts, styles and mediums are represented.
Advertising Images
- Ad*AccessAdvertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955, concentrating on: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
Searching for Images
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIn the blue bar at the top, select 'More'...and then select "Images". The results will be mostly UPI images.
- New York Times Historical, 1851-2001 This link opens in a new window
The New York Times Historical database offers a digital archive of the New York Times dating back to 1851. This includes searchable full text articles, advertisements, obituaries, and more, providing a rich resource for historical research.
Subject Guide
Roberto Arteaga
he/him