Find Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
- ATLA Religion Database & ATLA Serials (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Start your religion research here.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, and primary sources from various disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics
Background Information
Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese cultureCall Number: eBookExplores a range of diverse cultural subjects from contemporary Chinese culture. This book includes 1,200 entries.
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy by Call Number: B126.E496 2003ISBN: 0415939135Publication Date: 2002-12-30
Handbook of Chinese mythologyCall Number: BL1825.Y355 2005
History of Chinese charactersCall Number: PL1171.H57x 2011
Historical dictionary of modern Chinese literatureCall Number: PL2303.Y59 2010- The Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature by Call Number: PL2264.N54x 1986 v.1 v.2Publication Date: 1986-03-01
Oxford Chinese dictionary : English-Chinese - Chinese EnglishCall Number: REF PL1455.O88 2010The Oxford Chinese Dictionary offers authoritative and in-depth coverage of over 670,000 words, phrases, and translations. The foremost English-Mandarin Chinese bilingual dictionary available.
Religions of China in Practice by Call Number: BL1802.R43 1996ISBN: 9780691021430Publication Date: 1996-04-07
Urban Chinese by Call Number: PL1125.E6K53x 2002ISBN: 7561910908Publication Date: 2002-01-01Mandarin Chinese phrase book
Books
A to Z of medieval ChinaCall Number: DS748.17.X58x 2010The history of medieval China is related through the book's introductory essay, maps, a table of Dynastic Periods, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on key people, historical geography, arts, institutions, events, and other important terms.
A to Z of the Chinese Cultural RevolutionCall Number: DS778.7.G86x 2009The Cultural Revolution in the People's Republic of China started in 1966 and lasted about a decade. The A to Z of the Chinese Cultural Revolution in an extensive chronology, which traces the events from year to year and month to month, then in an introduction puts these events in context and helps to explain them. But most importantly, the bulk of the information is provided in a dictionary section with numerous cross-referenced entries on important persons, places, institutions, and movements.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China : modern and historic views of the world’s newest and oldest global powerCall Number: REF DS735.A2B47 2009Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from Adoption and Banking to Wound Literature and the Zhou Dynasty. Designed for students, teachers, businesspeople, government officials, and tourists seeking a greater understanding of China today.
Encyclopedia of Modern ChinaCall Number: DS755.E53 2009ISBN: 9780684315669Publication Date: 2009-07-31The encyclopedia showcases the work of an international body of prominent scholars, who offer accessible, original, and authoritative analysis of all aspects of the history and culture of China since 1800.
Historical dictionary of modern China (1800-1949)Call Number: DS755.G368 2009This Historical Dictionary of Modern China (1800-1949) offers a concise yet comprehensive examination of the political, military, economic, social, and cultural development of China during the 19th and first half of the 20th centuries. It covers a variety of significant people, including women and ethnic minorities; historical concepts; cultural and educational institutions; and economic activities
Modern China : a guide to a century of change by Call Number: DS774.H796 2001The focus is on society and politics and their impact on both China and the world.
