Interlibrary Loan
What if PLU doesn’t own the book or article you want?
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows current PLU students, faculty, & staff to receive books, articles, and other materials from other libraries. Some things to keep in mind when using ILL:
- Plan ahead! Articles usually arrive in your email in 2-5 business days. Books can take 7-10 business days.
- Books can be picked up from the Hold shelf on the 1st floor. Just take them to the Circulation desk for check out.
The Interlibrary Loan link can be found either:
- a) within the catalog or database, or
- b) in the navigation bar at the top of the library website
If you have any problems or questions, please email ill@plu.edu.
Finding African American History Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, and primary sources from varies disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
Subject Guide
Web Resources
- Oral History AssociationSupports projects and research focused on preserving and interpreting human memory.