Also Check out Primary Documents Tab Above
Background Materials
Encyclopedia of the underground railroadCall Number: E450.H855 2006"Fugitive slaves were reported in the American colonies as early as the 1640s, and escapes escalated with the growth of slavery over the next two hundred years. By the onset of the Civil War in 1861, the Underground Railroad included members, defined stops, set escape routes and a code language"--Provided by publisher.
Advertising Ephemera Collection - Database #A0160
Emergence of Advertising On-Line Project
John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History
Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa/*
Web Resources
- Digital Archaeological Archive of Comparative SlaveryA Web-based initiative designed to foster inter-site, comparative archaeological research on slavery throughout the Chesapeake, the Carolinas, and the Caribbean.
- Manuscript Collections Relating to SlaveryThe library of the New-York Historical Society holds among its many resources a substantial collection of manuscript materials documenting American slavery and the slave trade in the Atlantic world.
- Manuscripts of Slavery CollectionThis amazing primary resource collection consists of over 8000 pieces dating from 1724 to 1897. A research guide is at: http://xula.libguides.com/CharlesHeartmanCollection
- Slavery & Abolition in the US Select Publications of the 1800sA digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century.
Credo
Slavery in the United States : a social, political, and historical encyclopediaCall Number: E441.S635 2007
The Underground Railroad: An Encyclopedia of People, Places, and Operations by ISBN: 9780765680938Publication Date: 2008-05-15This encyclopedia provides a look at the network known as the Underground Railroad--that mysterious "system" of individuals and organizations that helped slaves escape the American South to freedom during the years before the Civil War.
