Subject Guide
Article Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, and primary sources from various disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- AnthropologyPlus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
AnthropologyPlus provides comprehensive indexing and full-text access to a vast array of scholarly materials, encompassing journal articles, reports, edited volumes, and even obituaries. Spanning various subfields from social anthropology to material culture, the database facilitates in-depth exploration of human societies and their histories.
- EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EconLIt, published by the American Economic Association (AEA), offers comprehensive coverage of economic theory, applications, and methodologies.
Data & Statistics
- UNdata"a data access system to UN databases"
- Eurostat HomeThe key access point for European Union statistics
- World Development Indicators | Data"The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates."
Peace & Human Rights Organizations
- Amnesty InternationalGives human rights information for countries.
- Human Rights WatchInvestigates abuses, exposes the facts widely, and pressures those with power to respect rights and secure justice. Human Rights Watch is an independent, international organization that works as part of a movement to uphold human dignity and advance the cause of human rights for all.
Country Profiles
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)This series of profiles of foreign nations is part of the Country Studies Program, formerly the Army Area Handbook Program. The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security. In addition to being featured in the front matter of published Country Studies, they are now being prepared as stand-alone reference aides for all countries in the series,