Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pacific Lutheran University

Inquiry. Service. Leadership. Care.

Copyright & Fair Use: Citing images MLA & APA

Citing images - MLA style

Ray, Man. Self-Portrait Assemblage. 1916. The J. Paul Getty Trust, Los Angeles, CA. The Getty Museum. Web. 17 December 2013.*

HOW TO CITE IMAGES IN MLA 7TH EDITION

The following shows you how to cite an image when found in a museum/collection, a website, an image database or a book. It uses Man Ray's Self-Portrait Assemblage as an example for each type of citation.

What you need to cite

What the citation looks like

How it should be cited

Work of art

Ray, Man. Self-Portrait Assemblage. 1916. Gelatin silver print. The Getty Museum, Los Angeles, CA.

Last name, first name. Title. Creation date. Medium. Collection/Museum, Location.

*For works of art seen in a collection, state the artist’s full name, italicize the title and list the date of creation. If there is no known date for the composition, write ‘N.d.’. Then include the medium of the work and the name of museum or collection and the location. If collection is unknown, write ‘Private collection’.

Work of art from a website

Ray, Man. Self-Portrait Assemblage. 1916. The J. Paul Getty Trust, Los Angeles, CA. The Getty Museum. Web. 17 December 2013.

Last name, first name. Title. Creation date. Collection/Museum, Location. Title of Website. Web. Day month year accessed.

* MLA no longer requires the URL of website.

Work of art found in an image database

Ray, Man. Self-Portrait Assemblage. 1916. The Getty Museum, Los Angeles, CA. ARTstor. Web. 17 December 2013.

Last name, first name. Title. Creation date. Collection/Museum, Location. Name of database. Web. Day month year accessed.

Work of art found in a book

Ray, Man. Self-Portrait Assemblage. 1916. The Getty Museum, Los Angeles, CA. Museum. Man Ray 1910-1920. Edited by Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev. Milan: Skira Editore S.p.A, 2004. Page 79. Print.

Last name, first name. Title. Creation date. Collection/Museum, Location. Title of Book. By: First and last name of author. Publishing location: publishing Company, year of publication. Plate/Page/Image #. Medium of reproduction.

*For citing art reproductions, include complete publication information such as page, plate or figure number. Also include the type of reproduction it is.

Information obtained from Lesley University Library http://research.lesley.edu/citeimages and used with permission.

*Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program

Citing images - APA TEST

 

HOW TO CITE IMAGES IN APA EDITION 6TH EDITION

The following shows you how to cite an image when found in a museum/collection, a website, an image database or a book.

Mieris, F. (1661). Pictura [Painting]. 
Retrieved from http://www.getty.edu/art/gettyguide/artObjectDetails?artobj=822*

 

 

 

‚ÄčIf you are working in the social sciences or a field that uses APA Style and need to cite a work of art, then here are some citation tips and examples from the APA Style Blog. 

You can also access the APA Manual via the library's catalog.

"A good reference contains enough information to lead your reader to the source you used, as concisely as possible. At a minimum, this should include the artist’s name, year(s) of fabrication, title of the work, any other necessary or relevant information (such as the medium), and the location of the work."

What you need to cite

What the citation looks like

How it should be cited

Work of art

Mieris, F. (1661). Pictura [Painting]. Los Aneles, CA: J. Paul Getty Museum.

Last name, first name initial. (Date). Title  [Type of artwork]. City, State: Museum/Gallery

Work of art from a website

Mieris, F. (1661). Pictura [Painting]. Retrieved from http://www.getty.edu/art/gettyguide/

Last name, first name initial. (Date). Title [Type of artwork]. Retrieved from URL

Work of art found in an image database

Mieris, F. (1661). Pictura [Online image]. Retrieved from http://www.ebscohost.com

Last name, first name initial. (Date). Title [Online image]. Retrieved from database URL

Work of art found in a book

Mieris, F. (1661). Pictura [Painting]. Frans van Mieris the Elder: 1635-1681. By Otto Naumann. Netherlands, Doornspijk: Davaco. 232.

Last name, first name initial. (Date). Title [Type of artwork]. Title of book. By Author. Museum/Gallery City, State: Museum/Gallery Name. Plate or Image Number.

 

Information obtained from Lesley University Library http://research.lesley.edu/citeimages and used with permission.

*Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program