Subject Guide
Key Biology Databases
Search for, find, and retrieve peer-reviewed, scholarly research in biology and related subjects.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts is an index of biological and biomedical research literature. Search Biological Abstracts and PubMED/MEDLINE together on one search engine.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. This resource allows you to search the PubMED/MEDLINE database using the EBSCO interface and search tools.
- PubMed (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Citations in PubMed primarily stem from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources: MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), and Bookshelf.
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides access to peer-reviewed journals and eBooks from the the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Find More Scientific Articles
Need more? The resources listed below include access to many more scientific journals and articles in the sciences, including biology.
- Academic OneFile (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a powerful resource that offers a vast collection of scholarly journals, articles, and other authoritative sources.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA, maintained by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, is a database for all facets of agriculture and related fields, such as environmental studies, botany, and more. It offers comprehensive coverage of journal articles, monographs, proceedings, patents, audiovisual materials, and more.
- Google ScholarProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, and primary sources from various disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
In order to use SciFinder-n, an individual registration is required. There is no cost associated with this registration.
SciFinder-n facilitates discovery of substances, reactions, and references. Covering millions of chemical structures, reactions, and scientific publications, SciFinder-n is essential for researchers in chemistry, materials science, and related fields.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters from engineering and life sciences to social sciences and humanities.
Key Biology Journals
- Conservation BiologyPublishes groundbreaking papers and is instrumental in defining the key issues contributing to the science and practice of conserving Earth’s biological diversity.
- Nature (to 2020)The flagship journal of the Nature Publishing Group, and one of the premier scientific journals in the world. Includes news and commentary as well as publication of original research.
- Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of AmericaOne of the world's most-cited and comprehensive scientific journals. Spans the biological, physical, and social sciences and is global in scope. Nearly half of all accepted papers come from authors outside the United States.
- ScienceThis journal, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, is one of the premier scientific journals in the world. Includes news, editorials, and policy analysis as well as the latest research.
- BioScienceHeavily cited, monthly journal with content written and edited for accessibility to researchers, educators, and students alike, BioScience includes articles about research findings and advances in biology education and articles of professional interest.