Subject Guide
My EbscoHost
'My EBSCO" provides an easy way for you to save & organize your research. My EBSCO is a free service, but does require that you set up an account & sign in.
Within My EBSCO you can:
- Save articles & citations
- Save search strings to rerun at a later time
- Set up article alerts
For an online tour of how to use the My EbscoHost tool, watch the video below. (4:51 min.)
Find Marriage & Family Therapy Articles
- SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is the most comprehensive database for sociological research. It provides access to scholarly articles, books, and conference papers in sociology and other related fields.
- PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full-text of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
An Important Reminder from the MFT Faculty
It is the expectation of the MFT Faculty that you will use journals from the field of Couple and Family Therapy as your primary sources.
You may of course, find additional sources in Psychology and/or Social Work journals but please note that often the focus of these articles is not systemic and will have more of an individual, perhaps even medical model, focus.
If you are unsure of using a specific reference, please check with any of the faculty members in our department.
Select List of MFTJournals
All of the Couples & Family Therapy journals listed below are available at PLU either electronically or in print. Use the library catalog to find more information on a particular title. Articles not available at PLU can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.
Core titles:
| American Journal of Family Therapy | Journal of Feminist Family Therapy | |
| Contemporary Family Therapy | Journal of Marital and Family Therapy | |
| Family Process | Psychotherapy Networker | |
| Family Relations | Sex Roles | |
| Journal of Couple and Relationship Therapy | Sexual and Relationship Therapy | |
| Journal of Family Psychotherapy |
Other titles:
| Annual Review of Sex Research | Journal of Child and Family Studies | ||
| Canadian Journal of Human Sexuality | Journal of Family and Economic Issues | ||
| Child and Family Social Work | Journal of Family Violence | ||
| Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review | Journal of Marriage and the Family | ||
| Community, Work and Family | Journal of Sex and Marital Therapy | ||
| Families in Society | Journal of Sex Research | ||
| Family Matters | Journal of the History of Sexuality | ||