Finding Journal Sources
- Fuente Academica (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, and primary sources from various disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources.
Background Sources
Companion to Latin American literature and cultureCall Number: PQ7081.A1C555 2008
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and cultureCall Number: F1406.E53 2008
Colonial lives : documents on Latin American history, 1550-1850Call Number: F1410.C725 2000
Latin American independence : an anthology of sourcesCall Number: F1412.L377 2010
Newspapers
- Latin American Newspaper Archive (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowDozens of historical newspapers from Latin America, dating from the 19th and early 20th centuries. From Mexico, Venezuela, Peru, Guyana, Bolivia, and more.
Books
Born in blood and fire : a concise history of Latin AmericaCall Number: F1410.C4397 2006
Myths and realities of Caribbean historyCall Number: F2176.R43 2009
Quality of democracy in Latin AmericaCall Number: JL966.Q35 2011
Weaving the past : a history of Latin America's indigenous women from the prehispanic period to the present by Call Number: E59.W8K45 2005ISBN: 0195183282Publication Date: 2005-09-02
Websites
- Americas ArchiveThe Americas collection strives to represent the full range and complexity of the Americas history by bringing together key documents that examines political and cultural relationships from a hemispheric perspective.
- Digital Library of the CaribbeanA cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Latin American TraveloguesA digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. Presented by Brown University.
- Latin Americanist Research Resources ProjectLARRP is a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies.
- Political Database of the AmericasThe PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
- Plataforma DemocráticaThis website provides a unique portal to knowledge and literature about issues related to democracy within North, South, and Central America.