Online Sources
Concise Encyclopedia of SociolinguisticsCall Number: eBookThis work provides uniquely comprehensive and authoritative information on all aspects of sociolinguistics.
Dictionary of Linguistics and PhoneticsCall Number: eBookDefinitions of terms in the field of linguistics and phonetics.- Key Thinkers in Linguistics and the Philosophy of LanguageCall Number: eBookA reference guide to the work of figures who have played an important role in the development of ideas about language
Print Linguistics Sources
Atlas of the world’s languages by Call Number: ATLAS G1046.E3A8x 2007Aims to depict the location of every known living language, including languages on the point of extinction. This atlas offers: a linguistic history of each section; an overview of the genetic relations of the languages in each section; statistical and sociolinguistic information; further reading and a bibliography for each section; and more.- Facts about the world’s languages : an encyclopedia of the world’s major languages, past and present by Call Number: P371.F33 2000
- Dictionary of historical and comparative linguisticsCall Number: P143.T73x 2000More than just a dictionary, this book provides genuine linguistic examples of most of the terms entered, detailed explanations of fundamental concepts, critical assessment of controversial ideas, cross-references to related terms and an abundance of references to the original literature
Web Sources
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldA detailed source of descriptive information on the world's 7,000+ languages.