Subject Guide
Finding Music Articles
For everything from the latest research to classic musicological studies, start here to find articles on your music topic.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, and primary sources from various disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the leading online library for education research and information. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC covers all aspects of education, from early childhood to post-secondary education.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a database of academic journals, magazines, and other scholarly resources, covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It's a great starting point for research, especially with its inclusion of many open access publications.
Encyclopedias and Background Resources
- Oxford Music Online (Grove Music) This link opens in a new window
Composer, performer and librettist biographies, encyclopedic coverage of music genre and form, works lists. Combines the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford History of Western MusicRichard Taruskin's classic and exhaustive study of the Western classical tradition, from the earliest musical notation to the late twentieth century.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of background sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, covering every major subject.
- Classical NetFree online music source exploring the world of classical music, from basic repertoire to obscure and unknown composers. Includes a buying guide and recent news from the world of classical music.