Subject Guide
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics This link opens in a new window
The CRC Handbook (aka the “Rubber Bible”) serves scientists, engineers, and students seeking comprehensive data and information across the fields of Chemistry and Physics.
- Astronomy EncyclopediaMany encyclopedia entries (from aberration to ZZ Ceti star) authenticated by a team of respected academics. Color illustrations, photographs, artworks, tables, and star maps.
- Atlas of the UniverseA comprehensive guide to astronomy and space exploration, including a complete star atlas section for the practical astronomer, topographic maps of the planets and their major satellites, using data from space probes, and a complete map of the Moon, with descriptions of the major observational targets.
Finding Physics Articles
Library databases that index or provide full text access to physics journals:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from scholarly journals, including physics: Physics Today, American Journal of Physics, and Physics Teacher are all indexed here, with links to Interlibrary Loan.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters from engineering and life sciences to social sciences and humanities.
- Scitation (American Institute of Physics) This link opens in a new windowIndex to physics research literature published by the AIP. Full text access not available but you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
- Google ScholarProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Search the following individual physics journals directly, and request articles through Interlibrary Loan:
Find a Topic
Stuck for a research topic? The sites and sources below highlight news and recent discoveries in physics and other sciences. Explore something cool.
- Physics CentralThis American Physical Society website's mission is to "communicate the excitement and importance of physics to everyone" through news about the latest research and developments in the world of physics.
- Science NewsThe magazine of the Society for Science & the Public, promoting public understanding and appreciation of science.
- Nature (to 2020)The flagship journal of the Nature Publishing Group, and one of the premier scientific journals in the world. Includes news and commentary as well as publication of original research.
- ScienceThis journal, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, is one of the premier scientific journals in the world. Includes news, editorials, and policy analysis as well as the latest research.
- Physics, from the APSOnline open access journal highlighting the best of the American Physical Society's Physical Review journals.
