Skip to main content

Pacific Lutheran University

Inquiry. Service. Leadership. Care.

Exhibit History: Curriculum Driven Library Exhibits

Information and data to support Pacific Lutheran University's accreditation review with regards to the Mortvedt Library's resources and services.

Curriculum Driven Exhibits in Mortvedt Library

Mortvedt Library displays temporary curriculum driven exhibits in the lobby and building throughout the year. Often times the exhibits originate from a collaboration between the Library and faculty members or campus organizations. There is one permanent anthropological display of African masks and artifacts on the second floor of the Library. Below is a list of recent exhibits by academic year.

2018-2019 Library Exhibits

Books in support of Earth and Diversity Week 2019

Books in Support of Earth and Diversity Week
Earth and Diversity Week is an opportunity for the PLU community to engage with our values of diversity, justice and sustainability (DJS) and to explore the intersections between environmental and social justice. We often talk about DJS but rarely stop to reflect on what the terms diversity, justice, and sustainability actually mean and what they look like in practice. In efforts to challenge our understanding and applications of DJS, this book display serves as a method of increasing our campus-wide competency around environmental and social issues..
 
 
[Exhibit supported the 2019 Earth and Diversity Week.]

Books in Support of the 2019 Jolita Benson Education Lecture

Books in Support of the 2019 Jolita Benson Education Lecture
The 2019 Jolita Benson Education Lecture features author Matt de la Peña speaking on the topic "My Journey From Reluctant Reader to Author." Matt de la Peña’s presentation centers around his journey from reluctant reader to published author, and the transformative power of literature. “I didn’t fall for books until I was in college — I got there on a basketball scholarship — but once I did, it changed my life,” says de la Peña.
 
 
[Exhibit supported the 2019 Jolita Benson Education Lecture and the Department of Education.]

student photos taken during PLU Wang Center study away programs in 2019

Wang Center Student Photo Contest Winners
The Annual Wang Center Photo Contest is an opportunity for students to reflect upon their study away experience and is an opportunity to share the images, from their perspective, with the PLU community. I display these photos in the Library lobby to promote study abroad and to give students an opportunity to have their work viewed by a large audience.
 
 
[Student art work exhibit supported PLU's global education program.]

Witness Uganda event-related books on exhibit in the library loggy

Witness Uganda Event-Related Books 
Books from the Mortvedt Library collection displayed in a reading room in the lobby that speak to Witness Uganda, a documentary musical coming to PLU on March 6, 2019 which explores the complications of being a Samaritan. 
 
 
[Exhibit supported the 4th Biennial Ambassador Chris Stevens Memorial Lecture/Event.]

images from the Archives of images about BSU and Black History Month

Highlighting Student Research in the Archives & Special Collections: Black @ PLU
Over the course of spring semester 2019, the Black Student Union, led by Nai-Nai Watts and Peanina “Nina” Moore, in partnership with the Archives and Special Collections, Alumni Relations, Campus Ministry, and Marketing and Communications, will develop “Black @ PLU,” a digital exhibit exploring Nai-Nai and Nina’s research and inviting Black students and alumni to share memories of their own PLU experience. The items on display in this exhibit preview “Black @ PLU” by showcasing records of Black student life, past and present, from the Archives and Special Collections.
 
 
[Exhibit supported Black History Month, the Black Students Union, Archives and Special Collections, Alumni Relations, Campus Ministry, and Marketing and Communications.]

library exhibit of books on the topic of compassion

Books About Compassion
Compassion is an important part of PLU’s mission, “PLU seeks to educate students for lives of thoughtful inquiry, service, leadership and care—for other people, for their communities and for the Earth.” This exhibit of select books from the Mortvedt Library collection explores compassion in many different ways, including historical examples, social critique, spiritual guidance, psychology, and science.
 
 
[Exhibit supported the mission of the University.]

African Art - Exhibit Refreshed
Library's permanent exhibit of African Art was contextualized with information from student research collected and reported on https://www.plu.edu/africanartcollection/ .
 
 
[Exhibit supported Anthropology, Art & Design, History, and Sociology.]

Scholarship on Race in Sports exhibit

Scholarship on Race in Sports
Exhibit on the topic of the scholarship of race in sports highlighted print books from the Mortvedt Library collection and scholarly journal articles from the library’s online databases.
 
 
[Exhibit supported Athletics, Sociology, Psychology, Kinesiology, and Anthropology.]

students trying out furniture in the Have a Seat! exhibit

Have a Seat!
Exhibit of proposed seating and table options for the first floor of the Library. Students tried out the furniture, voted on their favorites, and commented via the whiteboard.
 
 
[Exhibit supported student choice in determining the look and feel of the Library space.]

I am Psyched Exhibit

I am Psyched
Exhibit that highlighted women of color in psychology. APA’s Women’s Programs Office created the first I am Psyched! exhibit to engage visitors, especially young women and girls of color, in exploring how psychology benefits daily life
 
 
[Exhibit supported the Department of Psychology.]

2017-2018 Library Exhibits

Search for a Shared Humanity
Exhibit of graphic novels from the collection which include the theme of humanity. Books included were The Arrival, Barefoot Gen: The Day After, Epileptic, Fun Home, Honor Girl, King: A Comics Biography, Persepolis (all displayed with summaries of the narrative).


[Books from the collection exhibit supported awareness of graphic novels.]

banned books
Banned Books
Exhibit of banned books from the collection with explanations about where books are challenged, who challenges books, reasons for being challenged. Books included were The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, Persepolis , Animal Farm, Lolita, Native Son, Go Tell It on the Mountain, Invisible Man, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Beloved, Song of Solomon, Bridge to Terabithia, In the Night Kitchen, The Lorax, The Kite Runner.

[Books from the collection exhibit supported awareness of reasons and places books have been banned.]
photos from Braceros exhibit
Braceros, photographed by the Hermanos Mayo/ Braceros, fotografiados por los Hermanos Mayo
 "Under the 'Bracero Program, 1942-1964,' Mexicans were legally contracted to work in the USA as temporary unskilled laborers. We have chosen to tell this story through photographs made by other emigrants, Spanish refugees from that country's Civil War (1936-1939), who -- though they left their country for different reasons -- nonetheless bring the particular gaze of emigrants to this task.” -- John Mraz, curator
[Traveling exhibit supported PLU's 8th Wang Center Symposium, Migration: Towards an Interdisciplinary and Cross-Cultural Understanding of Human Mobility.]
Black History Month: Jacob Lawrence's Migration Series
In honor of Black History Month, this book exhibit builds upon PLU's 8th Wang Center Symposium, Migration: Towards an Interdisciplinary and Cross-Cultural Understanding of Human Mobility
 
"Jacob Lawrence's Migration Series (1940-41), a sequence of 60 paintings, depicts the mass movement of African Americans from the rural South to the urban North between World War I and World War II."
-- From http://www.phillipscollection.org/collection/migration-series

[Books from the collection supported Black History Month and Migration symposium.]
Typography students exhibit of message made of post-its

Typography Must Draw Attention
​Typography students' temporary installation of artwork made of post-its displaying a paraphrased quote from Robert Bringhurst's book, The Elements of  Typographic Style, which is as follows: "Typography must draw Attention before it will be Read."


[Student art work exhibit supported Professor Avila's Typography ART 287 class.]

A Peace of My Mind Exhibit

A Peace of My Mind
Photographer John Noltner's A Peace of My Mind project connects with academic disciplines including sociology, anthropology, political science, history, peace and justice studies, comparative religion, philosophy, and more. These timeless stories engage and inspire as they ask the reader to consider, “What does peace mean to you?”

[Traveling exhibit supported ASPLU-sponsored key note address and discussion/small group facilitation with John Noltner.]

Wang Center photo contest 3rd place winner 2018
Wang Center Student Photo Contest Winners
The Annual Wang Center Photo Contest is an opportunity for students to reflect upon their study away experience and is an opportunity to share the images, from their perspective, with the PLU community. I display these photos in the Library lobby to promote study abroad and to give students an opportunity to have their work viewed by a large audience.

[Student art work exhibit supported PLU's Study Away program.]

2016-2017 Library Exhibits

patrons looking at the St. John Bible exhibit

St. John's Bible 
This year-long exhibit of a volume of the St. John's Bible was organized in collaboration with Professor Sam Torvend to marker the 500th anniversary of Lutheran education. The exhibit included a bound volume of Gospels and Acts of the Apostles, as well as five framed illuminations. In planning for this exhibition. Each week during the year pages of the Bible were turned to refressh the exhibit.


[Tra
veling exhibit which supported the year-long programming of 500th anniversary of the Reformation.]

violence is inevitable symposium reading room in library
Reading Room: Conflict is Inevitable, Violence is Not
A living room exhibit with 30 books from the Library collection related to the lecture by Shamil Idriss about global conflict. 

[Exhibit supported PLU's 3rd Ambassador Chris Stevens Memorial lecture by  Shamil Idriss.]
Mortvedt Library's 50th Anniversary
In celebration of Mortvedt Library's 50th anniversary, and as part of Snapshot Day 2017, I created an exhibit of photos, illustrations, and archival scrapbooks from the Library's history. I also planned a small reception as part of the event.
 
[Exhibit supported the excavation of PLU's Library and Archives history through artifacts and photos.]
 
Wang Center Photo Contest
The Annual Wang Center Photo Contest is an opportunity for students to reflect upon their study away experience and is an opportunity to share the images, from their perspective, with the PLU community. I display these photos in the Library lobby to promote study abroad and to give students an opportunity to have their work viewed by a large audience.

[Student art work exhibit supported PLU's Study Away program.]

2015-2016 Library Exhibits

Common Read: Into Thin Air exhibit

Common Reading: Into Thin Air
Exhibit that highlighted PLU Alumni on Mt. Everest by showcasing artifacts from PLU Archives.
 
[Exhibit supported the Common Reading text, Into Thin Air.}

Tikkun Olam
A living room of reading materials from the collection related to Jewish and Christian relations.
 
[Exhibit supported the Lutheran Studies Conference Tikkun Olam: The Legacy and Future of Jewish-Christian Relations.]

125th Exhibit
Photos featured historical items that are part of the PLU Archives and Special Collections and the Scandinavian Cultural Center Collection. Each item had a question and answer.
 
[Exhibit honored the rich history of PLU's 125 years.]

Stereotyped
Broadsides and postcards exhibited were produced by students at the Elliott Press in Ingram Hall. The letterpress and relief printed works were made byusing the same historic techniques as Johannes Gutenberg. These works explored the use of the printing press to make the personal political using the theme of "hate won't win."
 
[Student work exhibit supported Professor Mare Blocker's Art of the Book, (Art 315, Eng 313, 314) and Graphic Design Two (Art 21) classes.]

Paleo Tech
Exhibit highlighted, through books and artifacts, technology previously deployed in higher education from the latter half of the 20th century. 
 
[Exhibit supported awareness of now outdated technology. Some items were provided by PLU's Information & Technology Services.]
Explaining Evolution
Biology students' projects explaining the concept of evolution.
 
[Exhibit supported Professor Ryan Miller's biology class exploring the topic of evolution.]
 
Countenance of Hope
A living room of reading materials from the Library's collection on the topic of hope.
 
[Exhibit supported the 7th Wang Center Symposium: The Countenance Of Hope: Towards An Interdisciplinary And Cross-Cultural Understanding Of Resilience.]
 
No Wounds Here
An exhibit of poems by Emily Hold (PLU MFA candidate) and photos by Braden Van Dragt reflecting their time in Belfast. Emily and Braden were particularly interested in the overt expressions of identity, community, and violence.
 
[Exhibit supported the public display of work made possible by a PLU Wang Center grant to a student.]
 
Shakespeare's Books
An exhibit of a facsimile of the First Folio, an original leaf of the First Folio, and other items related to the printing and publication of Shakespeare's works in honor of the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death in 1616.
 
[Exhibit curated by student Julianna Schaus and professor Nancy Simpson-Younger supported campus celebration of Shakespeare works.]

Pediments
An exhibit of sculpted pediments by students 3D Design featured a "narrative" focusing on current societal issues. The works are constructed of dense industrial foam using hand tools, sandpaper, glue, and paint to complete the sculptures.
 
[Student art work exhibit supported Professor Spencer Ebbinga's ART 202 class.]
Wang Center Photo Contest
The Annual Wang Center Photo Contest is an opportunity for students to reflect upon their study away experience and is an opportunity to share the world's images, from their perspective, with the PLU community.
 
[Student art work exhibit supported PLU's Study Away program.]