Books
Archival guide to the collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumCall Number: D804.175W37x 2002
Buchenwald reportCall Number: D805.G3B7746 1995
CountrymenCall Number: DS135.D4L49 2013Danish people banded together to save their fellow Jews from the Nazis - told through the remarkable unpublished diaries and documents of families forced to run for safety, leaving their homes and possessions behind, and of those who courageously came to their aid.- Documents of destruction; Germany and Jewry, 1933-1945Call Number: D810.J4H52
Documents on the rape of NankingCall Number: DS796.N2D63 1999- Holocaust in Rumania : facts and documents on the annihilation of Rumania’s Jews, 1940-44Call Number: DS135.R7C32713 1994
- Sobibor, martyrdom and revolt : documents and testimonies by Call Number: D810.J4S597Publication Date: 1980-09-01
- The stones cry out : Sweden's response to the persecution of the Jews, 1933-1945 by Call Number: DL658.8.K6x 1988
Visualizing the Holocaust : documents, aesthetics, memoryCall Number: D804.3.V57 2008
Holocaust
- German History in Documents and ImagesA comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present.
- Holocaust-Era AssetsNational Archives information about looting, locating, recovering, and restituting Holocaust-Era assets.
- Nuremberg Trials ProjectThe Harvard Law School Library has approximately one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT)
- Primary Documents Online--HolocaustThis listing provides links to some of the best internet portals and collections of primary documents. Note that a collection may contain materials for more than one subject area and may offer secondary material as well as primary.
- U.S. Holocaust Museum Primary DocumentsExamples of useful primary sources for learning about the Holocaust include diaries, letters, concentration camp records, or other documents created by victims, survivors, or perpetrators before, during, or after World War II.
- Yad VashemThe digital archives include the Central Database of Shoah Victims' Names, with five million-plus records.
What is a primary source?
A primary source is firsthand testimony. It is the words of the witnesses or the first recorders of an event. It is created contemporary to the events and includes: diaries, letters, manuscripts, archives, speeches, audio recordings, newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, original art, and maps. It also includes books that are firsthand testimony of an event.
Online Primary Sources
- Timelines: Sources from HistorySeveral hundred images culled from the British Library's extensive collections are arranged by decade in this attractive, engaging interactive resource.
- USC Shoah FoundationDedicated to making audio-visual interviews with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides a compelling voice for education and action. Also at https://www.youtube.com/user/USCShoahFoundation
Armenia
- ArmenocideDocuments from German State Archives
- Bryce Report into the Armenian Massacre, October 1915An extract from the text of the official British Government report into the Armenian Massacres conducted by Turkey during April-December 1915.
Rwanda
- Genocide Archive RwandaOn this site you will find videos relating to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi enriched with synchronized transcripts, searchable index terms, and maps.
- RwandaFrom the US Holocaust Museum
- Rwanda Documents ProjectCollection of documents from the UN and other sources.
- Sitreps Detail Rwanda's Descent into Genocide 1994Complete Collection of Peacekeepers' Situation Reports from Rwanda to UN Headquarters in New York — from the Mission's Inception in October 1993 through the End of the Genocide in July 1994
- US and the Genocide in Rwanda 1994From the National Security Archive-- investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents.
Darfur
Collections of Primary Documents
- Digital Book IndexDigital Book Index provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaAims to become a national portal to the digital holdings of archives, libraries, museums, & cultural institutions in the United States.
- HathiTrustHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It includes many full-text books, videos, and other artifacts.
- Library of Congress Digitial CollectionsComprehensive collection of images, videos and sound on popular culture and history.
Historical Newspapers & Magazines
- Chronicling AmericaProvided by the Library of Congress, you can search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1943.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
- Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Spanning coverage from 1785 to 1985, this resources provides comprehensive access to The Times of London's historical archive.
- Wall Street Journal Historical 1889-1987 This link opens in a new window
Search over 100 years of economic news to explore trends & issues that have impacted the country and the world.
Nanking Massacre
- Japanese Imperialism and the Massacre in NanjingAn English translation of a classified Chinese document on the Nanjing Massacre -
Ukraine
- Gareth Richard Vaughan JonesWelsh journalist who wrote articles that exposed the Ukrainian famine. Includes links to some of the articles.
Trail of Tears
China's Great Famine
- China's Great Leap Forward, 1958-1961"In an effort to transform China's agrarian economy into an industrialized communist society, the Chinese Communist Party passed the "General Line of the Great Leap Forward" on May 1958 and began the people’s commune movement and the drive to increase steel production. Ultimately a failed political campaign, the Great Leap Forward led to the deaths of millions of people across China."