Subject Guide
APA Style
Nursing, Business, Psychology & other Social Science courses at PLU generally require students to use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for research papers.
APA Style Guide 7th EditionCall Number: RR BF76.7.P83 2020
- APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL Purdue)Created by Purdue University Online Writing Lab. For quick answers to paper formatting, in-text citations, reference lists, and using APA in presentations.
Finding Nursing Articles
For the latest research in nursing, allied health, and medicine, as well as comprehensive meta-analyses and systematic reviews and high quality consumer health publications, start here to find articles and reviews on your nursing topic. Need more? Check out our additional resources for finding nursing articles.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the premier source for evidence-based nursing and allied health research, from systematic reviews and RCTs to case studies and care recommendations.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library provides a comprehensive collection of systematic reviews in health care and it is the leading resource for healthcare professionals and researchers seeking evidence-based information to inform their decisions. Systematic reviews are peer reviewed, analytical literature reviews whose data sources are existing primary research studies. They are a great way to discover the current state of research on a particular question or topic, since they may summarize dozens or even hundreds of studies.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. This resource allows you to search the PubMED/MEDLINE database using the EBSCO interface and search tools.
More Nursing and Allied Health Research Databases and Tools
- Google ScholarProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
- PubMed (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Citations in PubMed primarily stem from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources: MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), and Bookshelf.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Health Source is a collection of consumer health information providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source also provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of peer-reviewed healthcare literature. Also includes over 1000 patient drug education sheets.
- Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Nursing & Allied Health Source is a comprehensive resource for nursing and related healthcare fields. It provides access to a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. This resource allows you to search the PubMED/MEDLINE database using the EBSCO interface and search tools.